If you don’t use your lemongrass that often, try to keep the clump in check by removing wilted outer stalks once a month. You can cut them back to your desired height -they respond well to being trimmed. Thanks heaps!! Trim leaves to about 6 inches tall. With a frost blanket or heavy layer of straw mulch over the soil, the plant has a good chance of returning year after year (even when the leaves die back). You’ll find that most of the base it too firm to eat. Keep in mind they also grow quite large and bushy, and require ample sun. The wikiHow Video Team also followed the article's instructions and verified that they work. This is my first year I am growing lemongrass from seed. Lemongrass (Cymbopogon citratus), as its name suggests, is a lemony-tasting, grassy herb. wikiHow is where trusted research and expert knowledge come together. Before you can cook with lemongrass, you must first trim about an inch from the hard, woody base and enough of the stiff green top to leave about 6 inches of stalk. Click here for more lemongrass pruning info. Use the information in the following article to learn more about how to cut back lemongrass. Two-Year Lemongrass Update (and How to Tame That Wild Thing) http://t.co/8VW4ZbnU7w #gardenchat #gardening, RT @theGardenBetty: What homegrown lemongrass looks like: Two-Year Lemongrass Updated (and How to Tame That Wild Thing) http://t.co/EyosPxH…, What homegrown lemongrass looks like: Two-Year Lemongrass Updated (and How to Tame That Wild Thing) http://t.co/EyosPxHvmp #gardenchat, Two-Year Lemongrass Update (and How to Tame That Wild Thing): For an extra flavor boost, throw in a few cloves of garlic and knob of ginger while grinding and form into a smooth paste. I guess it’s like dried herbs, but they just dried on the stalk naturally. Lemongrass is a tropical plant, so it would be difficult to hybridize one that is truly winter hardy. Good for a cooler location. For those who want to plant this lemongrass in a cooler place, it is not