And I really hate to say that . Barrels are easy to … I have some knowledge of firearms and I certainly feel I have more knowledge than the author of this article. However, the fact of the matter is that food is every bit as important in a survival situation as water is and thus, procuring food should be your third priority after obtaining fresh, drinkable, water and either finding or building suitable shelter. The staff all said, “But he has been in 20 campaigns.” Napoleon replied, “So has my jackass but he doesn’t know any more now than he did in the first.”. The 10 inch barrel does not sacrifice much ballistically in the first 75 yds. 6. I hope someone is listening , this is how good sites start to fade away ! This Charter Arms AR-7 Explorer is just a neat little plinking/survival semi auto rifle in .22 long rifle. And Im sorry but a 10/22 not making the list makes me really question the quality of these articles. You are forgetting the venerable Cooey Mod 39. In many ways, the Ruger 10/22 is the ultimate survival rifle: reliable, versatile, … Just when there seems to be a clear favorite someone introduces a variation on an existing gun that … On the other hand, the Rossi is a very basic rifle/shotgun combination and thus, it may not be ergonomic enough for some shooters. The small groups we consistently were getting lived around 1-1/4 at 25 yards. I can buy two or three used semi-auto 22’s for that. I prefer my 10/22 blued takedown to the “stainless” model (which is just polished aluminum anyway). His ability and confidence progressed remarkably as he was given more freedom and responsibility, and he now works in gun sales at our local Turner’s Outdoorsman store while attending college. Duh, there are all kinds of devices in the market place that adjust length of pull including a rubber-like sleeve that goes on the buttstock that sells I think, for less than $10.00. Sorry Bill … there are many more very serviceable .22LR and combo rifles out there. Originally de